Classic Song, Beautiful Message: You Got Me By The Roots ft. Erykah Badu

This classic song has a good & inspirational message to it. People in my generation love to say they have trust issues, and etc. Of course, trust should be earned and not just given to anyone. Unfortunately, there are so many people who have put precious trust in the wrong people, and now they look at everyone the same or vowed to never trust again. The thing is, there is nothing wrong with trusting, we just have to be careful who we put our trust in. I am far from a relationship expert, but it just doesn’t seem healthy to be in a relationship with someone and not trust them. This beautiful song is an example of two people, their worries, and how it can either cause a good thing to go wrong or become stronger. Here are my favorite lyrics in the song that explains so much.

That snake could be that chick
And that rat could be that cool cat
That’s whispering, “She tryin’ to play you for the fool black”
If something’s on your chest then let it be known
(Right)
See I’m not your every five minutes all on the phone
And on the topic of trust, it’s just a matter of fact
That people bite back and fracture what’s intact
And they’ll forever be I ain’t on some “Oh I’m a celebrity”
(Right)
I deal with the real so if it’s artificial let it be
I’ve seen people caught in love like whirlwinds
(Caught in love like whirlwinds)
Listening to they squads and listening to girlfriends
(Squads and listening to girlfriends)
That’s exactly the point where they whole world ends
Lies come in, that’s where that drama begins, she like yea

If you were worried ’bout where
I been or who I saw or
What club I went to with my homies
Baby don’t worry you know where you got me

One comment

  1. sanchezolga · June 16, 2015

    Reblogged this on sanchezolga.

    Like

Leave a Reply

