Verse To Analyze: Lines In Jay-Z’s Moment of Clarity

       Moment of Clarity By Jay Z
“I dumbed down my lyrics for my audience to double my dollars
They criticized me for it, but yet they all yell “holla”
“If skills sold, truth be told, I’d probably be lyrically Talib Kweli
Truthfully I want to rhyme like Common Sense
But I did 5 Mil, I ain’t been rhyming like Common since”

If many celebrities, especially popular musicians, can influence people to wear certain designer brands, have suburban kids imitating an image they know nothing about, and influencing little girls to make it a goal to be bad bitches ..then why can’t more use their talent/influence to drastically speak out on what needs attention in this country?  Perhaps, accumulating more wealth is far more important or safer than risking it for a much needed change in our society. Maybe many just don’t care that deep enough. And, perhaps it is also us, the listeners who needs to analyze our mindsets as well.

Leave a Reply

