Fly Like An Eagle: The Steve Miller Band Classic Revisited & Analyzed

The 1976 classic has a melodious, spacey, & drifting sound to it that lingers & is befitting. The lyrics are interesting to analyze as well. I use to interpret Steve Miller’s lyrics differently when I first actually started listening to the song not too long ago (I was not born when the song was first created). Now, I personally look at him as saying how he wanted to find a way to help people, ready to succeed and ”fly” during a anticipated time of fundamental change in organizational structures and/or political power. I use to think why does he want to ”fly through the revolution?”. I was looking at it as him not wanting to actually take part in helping to create new positive change. It is all how we think and interpret the use of the word ”fly” in the song.  To either take part in helping find positive solutions or wait for others to solve the problems that may be heavy and deep in our conscience. He keeps saying that ”time keeps on slipping, slipping…into the future.” The lyrics in this song may seem quite easy to explain, but it can also be analyzed and seen from different perspectives. All in all, the whole composition was well put together, and it is a song that is just as current now as it was when first created 40 years ago.

 

                                                               “Fly Like An Eagle”

Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future

I want to fly like an eagle
To the sea
Fly like an eagle
Let my spirit carry me
I want to fly like an eagle
Till I’m free
Oh, Lord, through the revolution

Feed the babies
Who don’t have enough to eat
Shoe the children
With no shoes on their feet
House the people
Livin’ in the street
Oh, oh, there’s a solution

I want to fly like an eagle
To the sea
Fly like an eagle
Let my spirit carry me
I want to fly like an eagle
Till I’m free
Fly through the revolution

Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future

I want to fly like an eagle
To the sea
Fly like an eagle
Let my spirit carry me
I want to fly like an eagle
Till I’m free
Fly through the revolution

Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future

 

Leave a Reply

